hugs-n-cupcakes (scotlanded) wrote,
hugs-n-cupcakes
scotlanded

  • Mood:
  • Music:

#001 - entry date changed from 2004 -> 2029

Welcome to scotlanded



Friends Only!
Please comment to be added so I know of your existence!






Basics
Name:
Meghan
Nicknames: Megh, mostly
Names Not to Call Me: May-gen
Birthdate: 4 June 1986
Zodiac Sign: Gemini
Hometown: New Baltimore, MI
School: Eastern Michigan University
Pets: I have a cat named Pickle!

Psychology/Personality
Extrovert/Introvert: Introvert when you first meet me (see: ridiculously shy) but after that, it's sort of hard to shut me up sometimes
Greatest Fear: Dying alone / being alone for the rest of my life
Greatest Desire: Settling down in Scotland with some sort of partner-ey thing, a billion adopted children, and a nice career!
Nervous Habits: Still struggling to stop biting my nails
Strengths: Extremely loyal to those that deserve it, I generally give amazing advice, I'm smart
Weaknesses: I love being right and have no qualms with telling you you're wrong, I rarely take anyone's shit unless I feel sorry for them (and even then, it's for a limited time), I'm an unapologetic nerd, I'm afraid of commitment, I have anxiety issues, and I really quite like the internet

First Impression: Hrm.
Quote: "They came in by the dozens, walking or crawling. Some were bright eyed, some were dead on their feet. And they came from Zimbabwe or from Soviet Georgia, East St. Louis or from Paris or they lived across the street. But they came, and when they finally made it here it was the least that we could do to make our welcome clear. Come on in, we haven't slept for weeks. Drink some of this, it'll put color in your cheeks." - "Color In Your Cheeks" - the Mountain Goats

Family
Parents: Brian and Cathie (bio), Mary and Dennis (step)
Siblings: Chris (full); Katherine and Sam, Megan and Adam (step); Erin (half)
Nationalities: Scottish, as far as I know

Personal History
Grew up in New Baltimore. Attended Anchor Bay schools. Parents split up during eighth grade, Mom remarried during my freshman year and Dad remarried at the end of my sophomore year. I lived with Dad (because he stayed in the area) until I left for school. Moved into Mom's house at the end of Freshman year of University and lived there for two summers. Finished a Bachelors degree in Communication & Psychology (double major in four years hells yes!) Spent a year at Ohio State University in the graduate program at the School of Communication (hated it), moved home, worked a year answering insurance calls, six months for Lush, a few months of unemployment, four months at The Body Shop, got a job with L'Occitane en Provence in August 2011 and started school again in September. Now I'm going to school for a teaching certificate in social studies for secondary education and working at L'Occitane :)

Occupation: Sales Associate, L'Occitane en Provence
Education: Bachelor in Science (Psychology & Communication), obtaining a teaching certificate
Home: Ypsilanti, MI

Appearance
Height: 5'6"
Eyes: Hazel-ey green
Hair: Brunette
Build: Fluffy?
Defining Marks: Five tattoos: the blue star on the outside of my right ankle signifies childhood dreams, I have loved the color blue and the shape of stars ever since I was a little girl and the blue star was a bright future; the yellow lightning bolt on the inside of my right ankle is because when there's a storm outside, the flashes of lightning are the only things that let you know where you are. It is both a dangerous thing and a wondrous thing, so the lightning bolt is there to remind me that there is always light in the dark and that there are always blessings in disguises lurking about (and yes, because I ♥ Harry Potter and HP was a defining point in the growing-up process). The text on the back of my left thigh reads virtutis gloria merces and means "glory is the reward of valour" -- it is the text on my family's crest and is a connection to my roots. On my left wrist I have everything adventurous as a reminder to think of life as an adventure, not as something I'm forced to do! On my right forearm I have a combination of symbols - two lithops flowers (which grow in rock beds) that are connected with a double spiral (representing balance).

Academics
Kids Lit: Harry Potter
State & Local Politics
International Politics
Intro to Geography

Romantic
Marital Status: Single
Sexual Preference: Heterosexual
Turn ons: Chubby, glasses, wavy or curly hair, being able to spell properly, not having depression because I tend to get sucked into all the angst when I'm with someone who does have depression, independence, showering, having a good taste in literature, being a geek, loving the Mountain Goats
Turn offs: Mostly the opposite of all those things above, though perhaps I could add that glasses aren't necessary (just a sexy plus!)


Favourites
Animal: I'm a big fan of moose!
Color: green
Drink: Dr. Pepper, red wines (particularly merlots), amaretto sours, Strongbow
Food: mashed potatoes!
Flower: gerber daisies! Dena's gotten me into them XD
Music: the Mountain Goats!
TV shows: Dr. Who, Never Mind the Buzzcocks, Qi, Pushing Daisies, Six Feet Under, Dead Like Me, Monk, House, Psyche, Dexter, there are others.
Movies: Yes please!
Books: Same with the previous one. ♥ books ♥
Scent: Sugar, Old Spice (I don't care, I love it!), Eau de Baux at L'Occitane (mmmmmm!)

Layout modified from biconic's flexible squares layout here, using this website to make the tartan.
lyrics are from John Vanderslice's "Too Much Time" from Romanian Names (he is called the nicest guy in indie rock for a reason, give him some love!)
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 21 comments